football Edit

KoTB Wrapup

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Four-star University of Louisville signee Peyton Siva earned MVP honors in leading Seattle (Wash.) Franklin to the championship of the 28th annual King of The Bluegrass tournament on Tuesday at Fairdale High School.
The 6-foot guard scored a game-high 29 points and recorded four steals in leading the Quakers to a 72-55 win over Jeffersontown in the title game. Franklin became only the sixth team from outside the Bluegrass State to win the holiday event and the first since Homestead (Fla.) Berkshire in 1999.
The young but talented J-town squad got 11 points from junior guard Thomas Jackson and 10 from junior guard Aaron Cosby, who just became eligible to play for the Chargers this week after transferring last December. On Monday night, Cosby scored 25 points in his first game back. He is being pursued by college programs such as Indiana, Minnesota, Oklahoma State, Western Kentucky and Dayton.
Charles Hankerson, a 2010 swingman receiving interest from Auburn and Virginia Commonwealth, scored a game-high 28 points in the third-place game to lift Miami (Fla.) Coral Reef over Louisville DuPont Manual, 62-55.
Lexington Catholic downed Cherokee (Ga.) 62-48 in the fifth-place game despite a 20-point, 16-rebound effort from Alabama signee Shawn Kemp. Louisville Male edged Bullitt East 61-54 in the consolation final behind 17 points and 12 rebounds from O.J. Bell.
Kentucky signee Jon Hood saw his Madisonville-North Hopkins squad struggle in the event, but still managed to impress all onlookers with a great individual effort. He scored 36, 35 and 29 in three games for the Maroons.
Also overshadowed due to his team's presence in the consolation bracket was Miami of Ohio signee Drew Kelly, who followed up his tournament-record 67-point game on Saturday night with a 38-point, 15-rebound effort against Madisonville-North Hopkins.
The KoTB All-Tournament Team:
Peyton Siva - Seattle (Wash.) Franklin (Bob White MVP)
Chase Cox - Taylor County (Ralph Beard Spirit Award)
Domonique Wilson - Franklin
Thomas Jackson - Jeffersontown
Antwan Wilson - Jeffersontown
Charles Hankerson - Miami (Fla.) Coral Reef
Steven Lopez - Miami (Fla.) Coral Reef
Shawn Kemp - Cherokee (Ga.)
Drew Kelly - Franklin (Tenn.) Centennial
Jon Hood - Madisonville-North Hopkins
C.J. Penny - Anderson County
Sean Samsel - Louisville DuPont Manual
Jordan Hickman - Bardstown
D'Carlo Hayes - Louisville Male
Taylor Botkin - Lexington Catholic
Willie Moore - Bullitt East
Quintrel Morris - Louisville Fairdale